A Covenant Prayer for Educators

Word Study.jpg

Lord,

Thank You for Your divine design. Thank You that You have given me skills, knowledge and talent to fulfill the purpose You have placed on my life to advance Your kingdom. Thank You for the opportunity to be Your fellow worker. What a privilege to plant and water alongside the Master Gardner and receive a reward from Your hand! (1 Corinthians 3:8-9, Colossians 3:23, 2 Chronicles 15:7)

I ask for Your favor to rest on me and that You establish the work of my hands. I commit all my work to You and desire that my efforts powered by Your strength will accomplish Your purposes. I pray that You will replace my own agenda with Yours. Help me keep my attitude positive by thinking on things that are true, noble, right, pure, lovely, admirable, and praiseworthy. (Psalm 90:17, Proverbs 16:3, Philippians 4:8)

Father, I know the work You brought me to is too heavy to carry alone. Help me to lean into You and depend on Your yoke that You invited me to take on myself as I labor with You for Your kingdom. Thank You also for other believers You have brought together in our schools to co-labor in helping Your people. (Exodus 18:18, Matthew 11:29, Ecclesiastes 4:9, Hebrews 6:10)

Lord I ask that You give me wisdom when I encounter adversity whether the adversity is from students, parents, colleagues, administrators, political figures or legislation. Let Your wisdom show me the way to best serve each of my students and build positive relationships with all the people who are a part of my school community. Give me the grace I need as I make every effort to live in peace with everyone. (James 1:5, Hebrews 12:14)

Almighty God, I thank You that You are a just God. Thank You for demanding fairness in every business deal, even when that business is education. Thank You for setting the standard. Help me to rely on this truth and Your sovereignty when adverse circumstances are overwhelming or it seems that I have been judged unfairly or held accountable unjustly. I know that You have called me by name and that You are with me when I pass through deep waters and walk through fire. When I must pass through waters or walk through fire, help me to continue to do Your will with all my heart and to work with enthusiasm because I am working for You and not for earthly masters. (Psalm 16:11, Isaiah 43:1-2, Ephesians 6:6-7)

Father, thank You for Your promise that all hard work leads to profit. As an educator, my heart’s desire is that the children my work influences will profit! I long to see my hard work lead to students who can use the beautiful minds You have given them and ultimately be fit for service in Your kingdom fulfilling Your purpose for their lives. I desire that my hard work results in children who value relationships with others over their natural inclination to be self-serving. This is the only profit I seek from Your hand. (Proverbs 14:23)

For Your kingdom. For Your glory. In Christ Jesus’ name.

Amen

Leave a comment